Citizens Panel Review Committee - LD-30 Senate


In accordance with ARS 41-1202, section B, a citizen panel is required for a vacancy in a district in which there are fewer than 30 elected precinct committeemen.  LD 30 has 29 precinct committeemen.
The newly-appointed panel will review applications to fill the vacancy in Legislative District (LD) 30, and will, within 21 days of appointment, submit three names of qualified electors to the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors for consideration.  Those electors must meet the requirements, live in the district and be of the same party as the person who vacated the office.  In this case, that means a member of the Democratic Party. The Board of Supervisors will consider the list of electors and by a majority vote, choose a person to fill the vacancy.

On August 31, 2021, the Citizens Panel Review Committee for LD-30 disbanded after completed their assigned task of submitting three names to be considered by the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors to fill the vacancy in the State Senate seat for LD-30:
  • Flavio Bravo
  • Harry Garewal, Jr.
  • Raquel Teran
On September 15, 2021, the Board of Supervisors appointed Raquel Teran to fill the vacancy for the Legislative District 30 Senate seat.



Agendas will be posted at least 24 hours prior to a meeting at Agenda Center.  Minutes will be posted as available.

Panel Members

  • Daniel Valenzuela (Chair)
  • Bill Brotherton
  • Richard Crews
  • Crystal Carrillo
  • Jessica Bueno
  • José Guadalupe Conchas
  • Stan Chavira

Formation Authority

A.R.S. §41-1202(B)